Saturday, April 6, 2013

Enhanced Concealed Weapons License Class

Idaho's legislature passed an enhanced concealed weapon permit law -- unanimously, in both houses (68-0 in the House, 35-0 in the State Senate).  It has been signed by the governor.  This provides a second category of concealed weapon permit that requires eight hours of instruction by an NRA instructor, instruction in the legal aspects of self-defense, and at least 98 rounds of live fire exercise.  The purpose is to provide a license that many other states will recognize; currently, many states do not recognize Idaho concealed weapon licenses because they do not have the eight hours of instructions and live fire exercise. 

This increased training is strictly optional; if you have a license already, and don't feel a need to carry concealed while traveling outside of Idaho, it may not be worth the time and money of going through the training required.  It might be a good idea, nonetheless, just to refresh your knowledge of the law.  My guess is that most people will wait until their current Idaho concealed carry license is coming up for renewal, and then take the class, but if you travel to some of the states that do not recognize our current license, you might want to do this before renewal.  The application fee for the enhanced license is identical to what you would pay for renewal -- you are just doing it a bit early.

Unfortunately, the course has to be taken within a year of applying for the enhanced license, so even if you have taken such a course in the past (as I have done), you still need to take the class again.  Can I suggest a friend of mine, below?

ENHANCED
Idaho Concealed Weapon License Class


NRA Personal Protection Handgun Course
Sunday April 21st 2013 Boise, Idaho

12 hour course 8am - 8pm Course exceeds Idaho State 18-3302K ENHANCED Concealed Weapon License requirement Certificate recognized by all states as firearms training. Also accepted by some Nevada Sheriffs for CCW license $150 course fee includes NRA handbook, flyers & NRA Course Completion certificate Classes are small (8 at most). PAID advance registration is required to reserve your seat. Class is open to all citizens who have no felonies or other legal disabler. Liability Release form signature required.

Course consists of approximately 4 hours classroom, 4 hours on the range, 4 hours legal instruction. Includes Basic Handgun Safety, Familiarization, Hands-on Firearms Handling, Shooting Skills & Firing Instruction. Several hours will be spent on the firing range bringing student skills up to standards. Personal security & avoiding violent confrontations will be covered in depth. Idaho State Law involving firearms, concealed weapons, self-defense and after-event issues will be taught by a licensed Idaho attorney (a former deputy attorney general, prosecutor & defense attorney). A written test will be administered.

BRING: warm jacket & hat (it gets cold and windy at the desert shooting range), eye and ear protection and your handgun (if you do not have a handgun, I have a few loaners, and can assist in choosing an appropriate defense firearm), at least 3 boxes of 50 rounds of target ammunition as Idaho law requires at least 98 rounds for training,(and that much for each gun you wish to carry in Nevada), a lunch/snacks, a notepad, highlighter, pencil, stickynotes.

T.Allen Hoover
(208) 631 3003
PO Box 6232
Boise ID 83707
nrainstructor@tallenhoover.com
www.tallenhoover.com

 Group classes, individual lessons available, K-12 Teacher & Principal discounts offered

DEFEND your Constitutional Firearm Rights, Join the NRA discounted memberships available, CALL ME
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Upcoming NRA Basic Firearm Courses this Spring & Summer:
NRA Personal Protection Handgun Course $150,
NRA Basic Pistol Course $125,
NRA Basic Rifle Course $125,
NRA Home Firearms Safety Course $50
Upcoming Instructor Level Courses: NRA (BIT)
Basic Instructor Training course $100
(Instructor Candidates must take BIT course first),
NRA Home Firearms Safety Instructor Course $125,
NRA Basic Pistol Instructor Course $225, 
NRA Basic Rifle Instructor Course $225,
NRA Personal Protection Handgun Instructor Course $350
 

2 comments:

StormCchaser said...

I wish we had these in Arizona. Since I got my permit, the requirements have dropped low enough that Nevada no longer recognizes our permit. Sigh.

In AZ, you don't even need a CCW permit to carry concealed, except in special circumstances (e.g. at a venue where liquor is served, such as a typical restaurant.

Clayton said...

When I looked it up a month or so ago, Nevada's website said that they recognized Arizona. That's why I applied for an Arizona non-resident permit -- and yes, they required at least 8 hours of instruction including live fire for issuance. Now I see that they no longer recognize Arizona's permit. http://www.nvrepository.state.nv.us/Docs/PR_2013-03-01_ArizonaRecognition.pdf

Bummer.